The What, When, And How Of Uber And Lyft Insurance Coverage
The rideshare industry – and the insurance that covers it – is new in the grand scheme of things. This means you must be aware of the latest updates and changes; doing so will aid you in the event of an accident, whether you’re a driver or a passenger.
What many people don’t realize is that Uber and Lyft are liable for accidents only during specific times, which are dependent upon the status of the driver’s app. In addition, the amount of coverage provided by Uber and Lyft varies throughout the course of the driver’s shift.
Let’s break it down to make it simple.
There are four distinct Uber and Lyft insurance phases to be aware of:
Phase 0 (The App Is Off): Uber And Lyft Provide No Insurance Coverage.
This is the case when the Uber or Lyft driver has not yet opened the driver app and begun to wait for a ride request. If an accident occurs during this time, the driver’s personal auto insurance policy will be in effect and should provide coverage for personal injury and damage to third-party property. According to Florida law, all drivers in Florida are required to carry at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage.
Phase 1 (The App Is On, Ride Not Yet Accepted): Uber And Lyft Provide Liability Coverage Only.
It’s important to keep in mind that as soon as an Uber or Lyft driver opens and turns on the driver app, their personal auto insurance policy (i.e., $10,000 in PIP and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage) will not cover an accident.
During this time, Uber and Lyft provide the following amounts of coverage:
- $50,000 per person for bodily injury.
- $100,000 per accident for bodily injury.
- $25,000 per accident for property damage.
Phase 2 (The Driver Has Accepted A Ride Request And Is On The Way To Pick Up The Passenger(S)): Uber And Lyft Provide The Following Types Of Coverage:
- $1 million in third-party liability insurance. This amount applies per accident for bodily injury.
- Uber in Florida: no UM/UIM provided.
- Lyft in Florida: no UM/UIM provided.
Phase 3 (The Driver Is In The Process Of Driving The Passenger(S) To Their Requested Drop-Off Location): Uber And Lyft Provide The Same Coverage During This Phase As They Do In Phase 2.
This means that the same coverage types and limits apply regardless of whether the driver is on their way to pick up a passenger or has the passenger in the vehicle.
Have You Been Injured In An Uber Or Lyft In Florida?
From Hallandale and West Palm Beach to Orlando, Tampa, and beyond, there are countless things to do and see in Florida. Whether you’re there for business or pleasure, as a local or tourist, chances are you’ll need a little help getting from one place to another in the Sunshine State.
More than ever, people are turning to Uber and Lyft, which means more and more people are finding themselves in a difficult situation: injured from an accident that happened while in an Uber or Lyft from point A to point B in Florida.
When this happens, few people know where to turn or how to obtain compensation. What many people don’t realize is that the answer depends on who was at fault for the accident. Was it the Uber/Lyft driver? Was it another driver on the road? Was it truly the fault of a driver, or was a city, construction company, or third-party auto maintenance company to blame?
Rideshare accidents can get complicated quickly – for all parties involved. It might feel impossible to fight for the maximum amount of compensation or even to get a fraction of it.
This is where the expert rideshare accident attorneys at Fenstersheib Law Group can help. Bringing decades of experience to the table, we’ll do the strategizing, evidence-gathering, and communicating for you, so you can focus on what matters most: your physical and emotional recovery.
In addition to coverage for your medical bills, you may be entitled to lost wages, lost earning capacity, and pain and suffering. At Fenstersheib Law Group, we know where to seek compensation and how to obtain it as quickly as possible.
Our main office is in Hallandale Beach, Florida, and we have secondary Florida offices
located in Hollywood, Miramar, Fort Lauderdale, West Palm Beach, Orlando, Sarasota, Tampa, & Jacksonville.
Call Fenstersheib Law Group at 800-TELL-ROBERT.