As the popularity and demand for rideshare services grow, it is sensible to become informed on the type of protection that these services offer. Rideshare drivers, such as Uber drivers, are expected to carry certain insurance coverage while they are offline and online. However, it is important to note that every state has different insurance coverage requirements and minimums.
In Florida, rideshare drivers are required by law to have insurance coverage when the rideshare app is on, which is normally provided by the rideshare company’s partner insurance carrier. When a driver is offline or not accepting any rideshare passengers, their personal auto insurance takes over and covers them while driving.
Uber And Rideshare Insurance Coverage
Under Florida’s insurance law, all drivers are required to carry a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) regardless of whether or not they are a rideshare driver. Therefore, if someone wants to provide Uber services, he or she has to have personal insurance coverage that meets the PIP and PDL state minimums. If the driver meets these minimums, Uber will cover the driver while they are logged on to the rideshare app while waiting for a passenger to be assigned or while providing an assigned ride.
Once the rideshare app is on, but the driver does not have a passenger assigned, Uber will provide the following:
- $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
- $25,000 of property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
Once the rideshare app is on, the driver accepts a passenger and provides a ride, Uber will provide the following:
- At least $1,000,000 coverage for bodily injury and property damage
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist bodily injury
The state of Florida requires that rideshare drivers carry the insurance coverages listed above once the rideshare app is enabled. It can be met by either the rideshare driver’s personal insurance or the rideshare company. Again, Uber will provide this coverage if the driver does not meet the minimum coverage amount under his or her personal auto insurance coverage or if they have insufficient policy limits.
Will Uber Pay More Money If I Took An Ambulance To The Hospital?
Uber will most likely pay you more money to settle your claim if you took an ambulance to the hospital. When you submit a claim with Uber, one of the questions they ask on their accident details form is whether anyone was transported by an ambulance. Uber uses that information to help determine the amount of money that will be allocated for the claim.
Cases that consist of someone taking an ambulance to the hospital after an accident are usually worth more because of the type of injuries and expenses involved. For instance, if you took an ambulance, your medical bills are going to be much higher. If your medical bills are higher due to your injuries and ambulance ride, compensation for pain and suffering will also most likely be higher. Therefore, the greater the medical bills and injuries, the greater the possibility will be that Uber will pay more on your claim.
However, keep in mind that an ambulance ride to the hospital will not automatically warrant a large payout by Uber. Your injuries will play the biggest role in determining your compensation. If your injuries are minor, then Uber will pay you accordingly.
Are There Injuries Worth Over $50,000 In An Uber Claim?
When it comes to Uber claims, there are several injuries worth over $50,000. The amount designated to these injuries help account for pain and suffering. For instance, if you require surgery for certain kinds of injuries, you could receive well over $50,000 in compensation for pain and suffering.
If you require surgery for any of the following injuries, you could possibly obtain $50,000 or more for pain and suffering:
- Lower leg fracture
- Broken upper leg bone
- Tibial plateau fracture
- Spinal cord injury
- Shoulder joint tear
- Broken wrist
- Rotator cuff tear
- Face fracture
- Herniated disc
- Hip fracture
- Compression fracture
- Ankle fracture
The list above is not inclusive. There are many injuries that can result in over $50,000 in compensation. In fact, not all injuries require surgery to receive over $50,000 for damages. The amount of compensation will depend on the injury, medical treatment required, and the basis for pain and suffering.
Why Is It Difficult To Find Information On Uber Accident Settlements?
Settlements between Uber and claimants are confidential. According to a spokesperson for Uber, Uber uses confidentiality language in their release of liability for bodily injury claims. When an Uber case settles, confidentiality is used in exchange for compensation. In other words, a claimant does not get paid for recompense until they sign a release. Once the release is signed, Uber’s insurance company releases the compensation to the claimant.
Does Not Wearing A Seatbelt At The Time Of The Accident Affect Your Injury Claim With Uber?
Not wearing a seatbelt at the time of the accident could affect your claim with Uber. Depending on where the accident occurs, the outcome may differ. Not all states follow the same regulations or laws. Some states may decrease the value of compensation based on the fact that the claimant was not wearing a seatbelt, while other states may not take that fact into account.
In Florida, a claimant’s compensation may be reduced if they were not wearing a seatbelt when the accident occurred. Insurance companies in Florida usually ask whether the claimant was wearing a seatbelt. If he or she was not wearing his or her seatbelt at the time, the insurance company could argue that the claimant was at-fault or at least partially at-fault for the injuries they sustained.
If the insurance company successfully wins the argument that the claimant was at-fault or partially at-fault for their injuries, compensation will likely be reduced to reflect this circumstance. Therefore, it is vitally important that the driver and all passengers in an Uber wear their seatbelts at all times.